top of page

BLOG

Search
  • Writer's picturenaturali nourished

let me tell ya bout my best friend!

So I am a person who wont take a pill unless absolutely necessary, like not even an aspirin for a headache. I also do not take any supplements. I am afraid that anything I get my body used to having it will want for always and ever, or that it wont function properly without it. It may have something to do with my years of being on birth control which I believe messed me up so bad when we wanted to have our first baby. I dont know. All I do know is that I will do whatever I can to avoid popping pills.


HOWEVER, after having three babies in the last almost 5 years, there are certain things this mama feels needs some "sprucing" for lack of a better word lol. One was the hair situation. I have always had long thick hair. I remember my mother doing french braids when I was younger and when she took them out my hair was HUGE haha...but pretty! While pregnant, my hair looked so healthy. Perhaps in part because of the prenatal...but I did learn that it is common with pregnancy due to hormones. Once those babies came, about three to four months later I started losing hair. I lost TONS of hair. The shower would be covered after washing it. You dont even want to know what the hair brush would look like! This happened with all three kids. Once I gave birth those hormones dropped and all that hair I didn't lose while pregnant was now falling out. This went on for about four months and finally I could see some baby hairs sprouting again. Even though there was some growth, I felt I needed to give it a boost. I also can tell it no longer grows as fast as it once did. *sniff* It is also a bit dryer than before.


I had read about Collagen in my health magazines, and on social media, as well as talked to a couple friends who have been taking it. The benefits seemed amazing, but would it really help? I tried two brands, both the best and most recommended, settling on Further Foods only b/c of a small price difference. The first month I did not notice any changes in my hair but I kept at it. I am now 3 months into my collagen experience and I have noticed a huge change in how my hair feels! It is so much softer and even feels thicker! No, I'm not making it up...I would not stick with something if it was not working. Needless to say, I am super pumped about this. Every morning I put one scoopful in my hot coffee. It dissolves and you cannot taste it at all. Super easy!


For those who do not want to use the bovine peptide, they do offer a marine version, which I did try for a bit but had to stop because I was getting headaches. Tried to get information on why that may have been happening, but no such luck. I know some personally who take the marine and do not experience that side effect. Guess it depends on the person. :) If you want to learn more, (I want to keep my posts somewhat short) go to the website and read all about it...it has so many more benefits than just healthy hair!


~bye for now!


https://www.furtherfood.com/collagen/


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page